About this blog…

Hi world. 🙂

As I was doing some research for another course, I came upon an article about librarian approachability. I began to think about how culture can determine how librarians and users interact, especially at initial contact. How do libraries around the globe create community through this contact?

This blog highlights some of the articles I have come across in my research. Disclaimer: my resources will be limited to articles written in English or translated for English speakers, so that does skew my results a bit.

I will focus on:
– points of entry to library spaces and initial reactions from users
– reference interviews
– what role gender, race, class, sexual orientation, and ability play in interactions between librarians and users in different cultural settings
– how librarians perceive their own approachability
– cross-cultural interactions

I will tag my posts for easy reference and indicate the country being discussed in the title of the blog entry.

Feel free to comment and/or point me toward new resources.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment